Curatr users enrolled incorrectly

Answered

Comments

6 comments

  • Avatar
    David Starr

    If you wish to remove the users from Curatr entirely a quick way to do this would be to upload a CSV with the users you wish to retain and choosing the option Syncronize Users. This will offer to delete all users not contained in the CSV.

    You can do this from the Admin Area, Users

    1. Click Import Users towards the top-right
    2. Add your CSV and click Upload
    3. Ensure the fields of correct type are selected
    4. Click the Synchronize Users checkbox
    5. Carefully inspect the table of users provided, clicking Confirm Changes at this point will delete these users

    Please be aware that this action will delete the user accounts from Curatr, not just the course.

    This synchronize functionality is not present for a course, users would need to be removed manually.

    Alternatively if the users have not made any progress on the course it may be easier to duplicate the course and enrol the 7000 users again, as the duplicated course would not have any enrolments. You can keep the URL the same by deleting the original course and then changing the course alias of the duplicate to match the original alias.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    yasmin brown

    Hi Dave I think your suggestion would work. If I removed the people I don’t want to have access from curatr then this would mean that the users that are already enrolled would just stay enrolled as they were. If I remove them from curatr then this will remove them from the move fast course won’t it? Thanks

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    HT2 Labs

    Hi Yasmin,

    Please be mindful that the suggestion above may well remove all historical Curatr records of the 'deleted users', course completions, contributions, comments etc.

     

    Perhaps David Starr can confirm?

    Craig

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    David Starr

    Deleting the user from Curatr will remove them from any courses they are currently enrolled to.

    The users comments will show as "Deleted User".

    Their contributions will be removed.

    As before, please be careful and confirm any users deleted from Curatr are definitely the ones you wish to delete. We are able to restore deleted users but ideally this should be avoided.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    yasmin brown

    Hi Dave I have followed your instructions and now I am getting a screen which says there are 1751 new users. Will the system have also deleted the users that I had enrorlled in the orginal 17K that aren't on the sheet I just upload?

     

    Thanks

    Yasmin

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    yasmin brown

    Ignore me I didn't scroll all the way down. Thanks Yasmin

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.