Stream allows you to place people into Groups - e.g. everybody that is in the HR Department belongs to the HR group.
Stream also allows you to link a Group to a Learning Experience (a Linked Group), so that anybody new to the group is automatically enrolled to that Learning Experience, e.g. the HR Group, get automatically enrolled to 'Having Difficult Conversations'.
If a new starter joins the HR Department in 6 months time and are enrolled to the HR Group they will automatically be enrolled to the 'Having Difficult Conversations' Learning Experience (and any others that are linked).
Tip: Linking a group to a Learning Experience will not enrol current group members. If a group already has members you wish to be enrolled you can easily add them using the Enrol Groups page, after setting the linked groups options below.
Admin Area > Learning Experience > Your Learning Experience > Linked Groups
To link a group to the Learning Experience, simply select the group from the drop-down at the top of the page and click ADD. The group will now display in the table shown below:
Note: Removing a Linked Group from a Learning Experience or a user from a group does not remove the users from Learning Experience they were enrolled on.
- Automatic Course Enrolment
- Comment restriction (Restrict comments)
- Course visibility (Members can View)
- Self enrolment (Members can Enrol)
Automatic Course Enrolment will add new (not current) members of the group to this Learning Experience.
Comment restriction will change the default comment sorting to only show the people in the user's group. However, users are still able to select the Show all option if they wish.
Course visibility and self enrolment will override the normal Learning Experience settings for members of that group.
Self enrolment will allow group members to enrol to the Learning Experience as if the Allow Self Enrolment setting was enabled.
Course visibility will show Learning Experience to group members as if course Visibility was set to public.
For example, if a course is public and the linked group has the visibility disabled, then the Learning Experience will not be visible to members of that group (they will be able to see it using search).
Conversely, if set to secret and the linked group has the visibility enabled, the Learning Experience will be visible to members of that group.
If an individual is a member of more than one group (with conflicting settings) then the table below shows the permissions that will be allowed/not allowed.