8th August 2017 - Minor Release

Follow

Comments

5 comments

  • Avatar
    Josh Webb

    Hi, just to confirm, the first update (Leaderboard Opt Out) is just the ability of an admin to change a user’s Leaderboard settings instead of that user doing it themselves.It does NOT have anything to do with the ability to opt out of the Leaderboard for one course and stay opted in for a different course.
     
    Is all of that correct?

  • Avatar
    Pete Thorne

    Very good question Josh, sorry if the wording is unclear, but since this is an enrolment opt-out this is on a course-by-course basis. The reference to "all leaderboards" refers to the leaderboards on the front end and in the admin areas - for that given course.

    Why do we need this? Well, it's there because some tutors are also course participants and they might want to only exclude themselves from the courses they tutor. We've kept access to the opt out to admins only as having users try to manage this in the frontend would add a layer of complicated UI to the course page or user profile settings.

    Hope that helps clarify things.

    Pete

  • Avatar
    Josh Webb

    RE: We've kept access to the opt out to admins only as having users try to manage this in the frontend would add a layer of complicated UI to the course page or user profile settings.

    ...are you saying that regular users will not/should not have the ability to change it in their Profile?

  • Avatar
    Pete Thorne

    The option in the user profile is a blanket opt-out from all public course leaderboards and serves as a privacy option for users who do not wish to appear in public leaderboards. That functionality remains unchanged in this version.

  • Avatar
    Josh Webb

    Got it. Thanks for the clarification.

Article is closed for comments.